Baboons, considered the world’s largest monkeys, are primates belonging to the family of old world monkeys. They are only found in specific locations like Africa and the Arabian Peninsula. They require semi-arid conditions to survive and consume plants and animals both. They can be hunted down by leopards and cheetahs as well as humans. Though they have been listed as not extinct, their population is decreasing due to reasons like baboon hunting, habitat loss, overgrazing of cattle, unavailability of food, and extreme weather conditions. Baboons are also consumed as meat by humans.

Four baboon species (i.e., chacma, olive, yellow, and Guinea) are known as the savanna baboons. These animals form large troops, composed of dozens or even hundreds of baboons, governed by a complex hierarchy that fascinates scientists. Males use shows of physical power to dominate rivals, and troop members spend endless hours carefully grooming one another to remove insects and dead skin.

Baboons are some of the most identifiable of the monkey world. They have tufts of hair on either side of their faces and large, hairless bottoms that can turn red. These old-world monkeys also do not have prehensile tails like some other monkeys, which means they don’t use their tail like a hand.

Size Of A Baboon

Baboons are the world’s largest monkeys, according to National Geographic. From head to bottom, baboons grow to 20 to 34 inches (60 to 86 centimeters) and their tails add an additional 16 to 23 inches (41 to 58 cm) to their length. They weigh about as much as a human child — 33 to 82 lbs. (22 to 37 kilograms).

Baboon Habitat

Baboons are only found in a very specific area of the world: Africa and Arabia. Four species, the chacma, olive, yellow and Guinea, live in the savannas. Others live in other semi-arid habitats, though some baboons can sometimes be found in tropical forests. The Hamadryas baboon lives in the hills along the Red Sea.

Classification/Taxonomy  Of A Baboon

Kingdom: Animalia Subkingdom: Bilateria Infrakingdom: Deuterostomia Phylum: Chordata Subphylum: Vertebrata Infraphylum: Gnathostomata Superclass: Tetrapoda Class: Mammalia Subclass: Theria Infraclass: Eutheria Order: Primates Suborder: Haplorrhini Infraorder: Simiiformes Superfamily: Cercopithecoidea Family: Cercopithecidae Subfamily: Cercopithecinae Tribe: Papionini Genus: Papio Species:

  • Papio anubis (olive baboon)
  • Papio cynocephalus (yellow baboon)
  • Papio hamadryas (Hamadryas baboon)
  • Papio kindae (Kinda baboon)
  • Papio papio (Guinea baboon)
  • Papio ursinus (chacma baboon)

What Type Of Animal Is A Baboon?

Baboon is a primate that belongs to the family cercopithecidae. Baboons are known to be the largest monkeys, and their genus has five different species. Their population is limited to Africa and Arabia.

How Much Does A Baboon Weigh?

The weight of a baboon differs according to its species. The weight of a male hamadryas baboon is 44-66 lb while that of a female is 20-33 lb. Olive baboons can weigh anywhere between 33-82 lb. The female chacma baboons have a higher body mass compared to the males and can weigh 30 lb, while the males only weigh 22 lb. The weight of a yellow baboon (P. cynocephalus) can range from 24-50 lb.

What Class Of Animal Does A Baboon Belong To?

A baboon is a mammal that can weigh anywhere between 30-80 pounds, depending upon its species. They are omnivores that can eat both plant material as well as feed on rodents, juveniles, and small mammals. They are intelligent and said to have the IQ of a three-year-old toddler.

How Many Baboons Are There In The World?

The populations of the olive baboon, chacma baboon, hamadryas baboon, and yellow baboon are of the least concern, while the troop of guinea baboon are near threatened. Their populations are divided into five species by the name of papio hamadryas, papio papio, papio anubis, papio cynocephalus, papio ursinus.

Where Does A Baboon Live?

The woods, tropical rainforest, and savanna is where you will find a baboon inhabiting its group, including males, females, and their many offspring. All primates are very social animals and live with 5o-250 members forming a troop. The troop can thrive in semi-arid conditions and can adapt to an environment that is similar to a forest. The troop requires tall trees for sleeping during the night but spend most of their time on the ground. The entire troop is both arboreal as well as terrestrial in nature.

What Is A Baboon’s Habitat?

A Papio anubis habitat can be a tropical forest with tall trees, bushlands where the temperature is moderate, and savannas. The environment in which they live should have a water resource as well as shrubs and plants for them to feed. They cannot survive in a completely arid environment but can thrive in semi-arid locations like Africa and Arabia.

Who Do Baboons Live With?

Like all primates, baboons live with their own species, also known as troops which are hierarchical. They sleep on tall trees and also climb on the tops to look out for danger. The troop of a baboon consists of males, females, and offspring. They stay in groups while on the ground for protection against wild predators.

How Long Does A Baboon Live?

The life expectancy of a baboon in their natural environment is 20-30 years. The lifespan of a baboon is different for different species. The guinea baboon can live for 35-45 years in the wild, while the yellow baboons have a shorter lifespan of 13-15 years, but the female yellow baboons have set a record of surviving till the age of 27 years. The chacma baboon also can live up to 30-40 years, while the life expectancy of the hamadryas baboon is 30 years and that of the chacma baboon is 20 years, respectively.

How Do They Reproduce?

Baboons are polygamous in nature and continue mating all around the year with different partners. During the mating season, the male baboon protects the female baboon from other males which often leads to a fight and biting. The female baboon is sexually active only during its cyclical estrus which can last for 30-40 days. TBaboons reproduce during this time span, and after a gestation period of 180 days, the female gives birth to a single offspring.

Conservation Status

The baboon’s primary predators are humans, cheetahs and leopards. According to the International Union for Conservation of Nature and Natural Resource’s Red List of Threatened Species, no baboon species are endangered. All of them are listed as least concern, except for one. 

The Guinea baboon is listed as near threatened because it is believed that they may have lost 20 to 25 percent of their home range in the past 30 years. This range loss is due greatly to human farming and hunting.

Leave a Reply

error: Content is protected !!
%d bloggers like this: